Glogow (Głogów) is a town in southwestern Poland. According to the 2004 Census estimate the town had a total population of 71,686. It is situated in the Glogow County, in the Lower Silesian Voivodship (as of 1999), and was previously in the Legnica Voivodship (1975-1998). Głogów is the sixth largest city of that voivodship. The name of the town comes from hawthorn (głóg). Głogów consists of the following residential districts: Brzostów, Chrobry, Hutnik, Kopernik (Copernicus), Kościuszki, Ostrów Tumski (Church Island), Paulinów, Piastów Śląskich, Przemysłowe, Słoneczne, Stare Miasto (Old Town), Śródmieście, Żarków. Two villages, Biechów and Wróblin Głogówski, are also within Głogów’s administrative borders. Głogów was almost entirely destroyed in World War I. Since the early 90s, however, the historical town centre, formerly falling into disrepair, has been systematically reconstructed.